Gram’s Double Frosted Brownies {almost} via Mel’s Kitchen

2013-02-27 11.44.24Two things I inherited from my maternal grandmother: 1) Her Windermere Wedgewood and 2) Her aluminum brownie pan.  As far as sentimental value, they are equal in my eyes.

Ironically two things I did not inherit from her: 1) Her extraordinary baking talent and 2) Her double frosted brownie recipe!

Oh how I remember those brownies, though.  Always made in her special aluminum baking pan with the slide-on lid.  Anytime that pan made appearance in our house, we knew what was inside.  Every piece, a little treasure, with a dense, truffle like brownie base, a thin layer of frosting and the pièce de résistance:  a thin bittersweet chocolate glaze.  

Why we never asked her to write down her recipe, I’ll never know.  My guess is she knew the recipe by heart and any copy she may have had was long gone.  The result was after her passing in 1991, no one in our family had a clue how to make these brownies…until my best new cyber food blogger friend, Mel came along.

I don’t actually know Mel, but I follow her blog, Mel’s Kitchen Cafe.  Last week she posted a little collection of recipes under the heading “Recipes the World Forgot.”  Low and behold, there appeared before my eyes a photo of THE brownies.  The world may have forgotten about this recipe, but I certainly hadn’t.  I’ve been in search of it for the better part of two decades!  Of course I wouldn’t know for sure until I had actually made them, which I did yesterday during a nasty snow storm.

Mel calls them “Magical Layered Brownies,” but as I discovered yesterday, they’re also my gram’s brownies.  Well, pretty close at least.  Close enough for me to be practically doing cartwheels in my pint-sized kitchen.  Little does Mel know, but she has filled a void in my culinary heart.  I must thank her profusely.  And now I would like to share it with the rest of all mankind.  Just click on this link: Magical Layered Brownies, and be one step closer to brownie nirvana.

My Gram would be proud to know her legendary brownies live on and her magic pan is bringing joy to all who see it sitting on the kitchen counter.

2013-02-27 11.39.34

2003-09-20 15.37.46

2 Comments

Filed under Desserts, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Gram’s Double Frosted Brownies {almost} via Mel’s Kitchen

  1. Mel

    Oh my gosh, Ann, your post gave me goose bumps. Seriously. Your Gram must be smiling down on you right now – and that old picture is priceless. I’m so happy this brownie recipe is similar to hers. Stories behind recipes are the best. Thanks for a heartwarming post!

    • I cannot thank you enough, Mel. And what a great idea for a post, with recipes that many of us have forgotten over the years. One of the reasons I love having a food blog is that it can preserve not only my favorite recipes, but the stories as well. Happy cooking and thank you again for helping me to recreate a wonderful memory :)

Leave a Reply

