Broiled Scotch Salmon

Broiled Scotch SalmonTime to break out the kilts and bagpipes and enjoy a recipe from the Dinner Is Served archives (aka..my beat up little recipe box).

Pretty sure the first time I ever cooked salmon, this is the recipe I used.  It was fabulous then and still to this day, is one of my most favorite ways to flavor and cook salmon.   You can see the original recipe below, worn and well loved.  It may be a recipe from the ’80’s, but its bright, fresh flavors seem just as home in the year 2014.  And with the maiden name MacIntosh, I have even more reason to adore this dish.

Recipe box

The Scottish part of the recipe comes from a few tablespoons of the real deal:

dewarsEven the salmon itself came from Scotland!

Broiled Salmon with Scotch and Mustard Glaze

The fact that the soy sauce, rice vinegar and mustard are not from Scotland, we’ll just overlook that minor detail.  But you must agree, it’s one beautiful marinade and takes a mere one hour to impart its brilliant flavors:

Broiled Scotch Salmon

For the food geekery section of this post..  I need to point out that although the salmon I found at my local market came from Scotland, it is farmed salmon (sound the alarm).  The good stewards of marine sustainability, Monterey Bay Aquarium, advise against farmed salmon from Scotland and other locations.  While I do make every effort to follow their guidelines, sometimes, I just have to buy what’s available and remember, I live in the Chicago area where our seafood choices are a bit limited.

Also a note about broiling:Broiled Salmon

I have always preferred grilling over broiling; however when it comes to seafood, I’ve come to prefer the latter.  No worries about fish sticking or drying out.  The only downside to broiling is dealing with any fish aromas that may linger.  For some ideas on dealing with that issue, check out this article from TheKitchn:   http://www.thekitchn.com/help-getting-rid-of-lingering-53504.

Coming next to DIS: 50 ways with Haggis!

Then again, maybe I’ll just stick with this salmon and a splash of Dewars.   Slainte Mhath

Clan Mackintosh

Broiled Scotch Salmon

  • 4 salmon filets, about 6 oz. each
  • 1/2 cup canola or safflower oil
  • 2 TBS each: soy sauce, Scotch whiskey, rice vinegar
  • 1 TBS “sweet & hot” mustard (see Note>)
  • 1 green onion, chopped plus additional for garnish

Whisk together oil, soy sauce, whiskey, rice vinegar, mustard and green onions.  Place salmon filets in a shallow dish. Pour marinade over; turn to coat.  Cover, and place in the refrigerator for at least an hour, or up to two hours.

Remove filets from marinade and (if desired), transfer leftover marinade to a small saucepan.  Bring to a boil and then simmer for about 3-4 minutes, then set aside.

Preheat broiler and set rack to about 6-8 inches away from heating element.  Spray broiler rack with non stick spray and place salmon filets, skin side down on rack.  Broil salmon for about 6-8 minutes, until top is starting to brown and inside is just cooked through.

Transfer salmon to plates, drizzle some of the reserved marinade over and garnish with chopped green onions.

Serves: 4

Note> I use Honeycup® brand sweet and hot mustard in this marinade. It is widely available throughout the states in many major grocery store chains.Honeycup Mustard

4 Comments

Filed under Entree - Seafood, Quick Easy Weeknight Meal, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Broiled Scotch Salmon

  1. bobbalouie

    That really was a great salmon dish. To me one of the keys is getting really good salmon in the first place, and this was definitely that.

  2. Phil B

    Awesome recipe! Can’t wait to try it! I too recommend Honey Cup Mustard!

  3. Phil B

    Ok, I tried the salmon. I have to say, I do love salmon just about any way you cook it. This recipe is quite delicious! There is a bit of sweetness that’s perfectly balanced with the spicy (but not really spicy at all) mustard and salty soy. I actually have rice vinegar in my pantry so I didn’t have to buy it. It’s an unusual staple but everyone should have it to brighten up a dish.
    I also cooked the salmon on a cedar plank on the grill! Awesome! I love the broiler but with the plank and grill I just set it out there for 20 mins and then we eat! Marinade the salmon while you soak the plank. Boom!
    I could eat this every day!
    Another winner Ann! You ARE my favorite cook book!

  4. Awww well thank you and I am definitely going to have to try this on a cedar plank. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

