Mixed Greens with Goat Cheese, Red Onions & Trader Joe’s Orange Muscat Champagne Vinaigrette

Oh my..how I am tempted by the sample station at Trader Joe’s.  I just about cleaned out their display this past weekend after sampling a simple romaine/goat cheese salad with a delightful citrusy vinaigrette made with their Orange Muscat Champagne Vinegar.   Since I regularly cruise the TJ’s aisles, surely this unique vinegar must be a new item.   And yet my “sample person du jour” informed me this specialty vinegar has been on the TJ’s scene for quite some time.   I was surprised  it hadn’t found its way into my cart before this weekend!   Thankfully…all’s well that ends well and I now have a bottle in my fridge.  Waiting for endless possibilities.  Inspired by the ideas on the bottle and wishing I had an avocado and some grilled shrimp to add to last night’s salad!   Enjoy!

Mixed Greens with Goat Cheese, Red Onions  and TJ’s Orange Muscat Champagne Vinaigrette

1/4 cup Trader Joe’s Orange Orange Muscat Champagne Vinegar

1 small shallot, minced

Kosher salt or sea salt

Coarsely ground black pepper

2/3 cup – 3/4 cup olive oil

1 bag (about 7 oz.) mixed greens {i used TJ’s “Champs Elysees” Mix}

1/8 – 1/4 cup thinly sliced  red onion

1/3 cup crumbled goat cheese

Place vinegar, shallots, a pinch of salt and a few grinds of pepper in a small glass bowl.  Whisk together.  Add olive oil to taste, in a steady stream, whisking constantly until incorporated.  Note> After adding 2/3 cup oil, taste dressing.    If too acidic, continue to add oil until it it pleases your palate.  Season to taste with any additional salt and pepper.

Combine greens, red onions and goat cheese in a salad bowl.  Drizzle in enough dressing to coat.  Toss and serve.

Serves 4

One thought on “Mixed Greens with Goat Cheese, Red Onions & Trader Joe’s Orange Muscat Champagne Vinaigrette

  1. Hey Chef, I made this for dinner tonight. Everyone loved it! I followed the recipe exactly but I liked a bit more vinegar. Anyway, it was awesome!! Thanks for doing what you do. You’re my “cookbook”.

Leave a Reply

