Potato Cheddar Soup with Beer, Bacon and Chives

Day before yesterday I had the pleasure of gathering with 62 of my college sorority sisters in Indianapolis, for a reunion celebrating the final airing of All My Children.   There was much catching up to do and much reminiscing about the good old days at our alma mater, DePauw University.  Most of us now favor wine over warm keg beer, although the bar was stocked with TAB soda for those who really longed for  a walk down memory lane.

Funny that my conversations often lead to talk of food.   And talking of food often makes one, well…hungry!   Which in turn lead to a comment from one of my friends that I probably wouldn’t enjoy any of the bar food offerings since I was a gourmet cook.

We really need to clear the air here.

I love food.  ALL food.  And given the choice between a bar burger with cheddar cheese and the Grand Menu at Charlie Trotters, I’m inclined to favor the burger.  Simple and satisfying and not likely to cause me financial collapse.  So today I’m celebrating the good simple things in life: pub fare, mom’s home cooking, comfort food.  Food that wraps you up in a warm blanket when it’s cold and raining, food that you can share with family and friends.  Food like this potato cheddar soup.

A toast to my Delta Gamma sisters and the good things in life: garlic cheeseburgers, biscuits and gravy, Little Kings ….and TAB.  I love you all ♥

Potato Cheddar Soup with Beer, Bacon & Chives

5 cups sliced and peeled russet potatoes

5 cups chicken broth

1 large yellow onion, sliced

2 tsp. chopped garlic

1 tsp. olive oil

½ tsp. dried thyme

Pinch nutmeg

Salt and pepper

2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1/3 cup beer (lager or ale) OPTIONAL

4 strips bacon, cooked and crumbled

Chopped fresh chives (optional)

Sauté onions and garlic in a large saucepan over medium-low heat in a little olive oil until just golden and tender (about 10 to 15 minutes).

Add potatoes, chicken stock, thyme, nutmeg, salt and pepper.  Bring just to a boil, then reduce and simmer uncovered for about 25 minutes, or until potatoes are tender.

Cool slightly and puree soup in a food processor or blender, in batches.  Return soup t saucepan.

Over low heat, gradually add cheese, stirring until cheese has thoroughly melted.  Add beer and/or additional chicken broth if soup is too thick.  Taste and adjust seasonings if necessary.

Ladle soup into warmed soup bowls.  Garnish with bacon and chives.

Makes 4-6 servings.

We Are Family

One thought on “Potato Cheddar Soup with Beer, Bacon and Chives

  1. I made this soup for dinner last night and it was awesome! Everyone loved it! Bonus…it’s easy to make. Tip: I used my immersion blender instead of blending in batches in a blender. Thanks Chef!

Leave a Reply

