Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Sandwich

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork BBQ | Dinner Is Served

A miracle occurred in my kitchen last night that I must share.  I got a solid round of  “thanks for dinner,” followed by “can I have seconds,” followed by clean plates.  It’s enough to make me weep for joy.  And the best part is that this meal of adoration took me probably ten minutes of preparation.  Well, and 8 hours in my slow cooker, but that doesn’t really count.

My spice blend of choice this time around was Red Rocks Hickory Smoke Seasoning  from a new spice shop that just opened nearby.   My bbq sauce, always Sweet Baby Rays, but of course I’m always willing to entertain other suggestions from my listening audience.

For now, I’m content with my fifteen minutes of fame which happily will spill over to today, for another miracle has occurred: we actually have leftovers!

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Sandwich

For spice rub:

2 TBS EACH kosher salt, brown sugar and chili powder

1 TBS black pepper

2 tsp dried oregano

¼ tsp cayenne pepper

For Sandwiches:

5 lb boneless pork shoulder roast, trimmed

2 onions, sliced

¾ cup purchased barbecue sauce, divided (see Note>)

¼ cup low sodium chicken broth

8 Kaiser rolls

Shredded iceberg lettuce (optional)

Sliced red onion (optional)

Additional barbecue sauce

Combine salt, brown sugar, chili powder, black pepper, oregano and cayenne for spice rub.

Rub pork shoulder with spice mixture to coat.  Place onions, ¼ cup barbecue sauce, and broth in a 6-7 qt. slow cooker, stirring to combine; top with pork.  Cover; cook until pork is fork tender, on high-setting for 5-6 hours or ln low setting for 7-8 hours.

Transfer pork to a platter along with 1 cup of the onions;  discard remaining contents of slow cooker.  Using two forks, shred pork.  Return pork and onions to slow cooker.  Add remaining barbecue sauce to slow cooker; toss pork to coat with sauce.

Serve pork on toasted Kaiser rolls topped with lettuce, red onion and additional barbecue sauce.

Makes 8 sandwiches

Note> I used Sweet Baby Rays regular BBQ sauce.  For a more “smoky” flavor, use a hickory smoked sauce.   Also, the amount of sauce you add is just to your taste.  I added a good deal more sauce after shredding.

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Sandwich

  1. I strongly endorse these pulled pork BBQ sandwiches. Excellent. I’m no stranger to BBQ, having grown up in southern Indiana. With frequent trips right across the border to Kentucky. We smoke our own meat at the Baker house. And this recipe is great. Welcome any time. this is no chicken with herbs de Provence, this is BBQ. Am I getting my idea across? EAT THIS!!

  2. Made this for dinner a couple nights ago. I got a head start by rubbing the roast the day before. The pork turned out awesome, sweet, and tender. Don’t be put off by the amount of liquid in the slow cooker. I used two forks to pull the meat apart while still in the crock and by the time I was done the ratio of liquid to pork was spot on. This recipe is too simple not to make! Pile it high on a bun and top with some slaw. Wow!!!

Leave a Reply

