Blizzard Soup with Cannellini Beans and Sausage and Spinach

So to my email subscribers, apologies for being over caffeinated this morning and sending a rough draft of this post too soon!  I was so excited to share it with you that I posted the recipe before editing and adding my all too cool photo.  I think that qualifies me for food blog detention :-/

Anyway…

Not sure why I thought about this soup today other than the fact that Denver got a hefty, premature dose of the white stuff .  Which brought back memories of a massive blizzard that paralyzed Chicago for a day or two this past winter.  My family basically spent two days shoveling…and eating.  Then shoveling and eating some more.   The eating was very enjoyable.

This soup was on the menu and thus the name.  Served fireside, no doubt.  And with plenty of red wine.

Don’t get me wrong, I am in no wicked hurry for winter or snow or blizzards.  I’m actually still in denial that it’s fall and that I will soon be searching for my box of mismatched mittens.  But I did make this soup tonight, and that made me pretty darned happy.

Now….I can click “Publish”

Blizzard Soup with Cannellini Beans and Sausage and Spinach

2 TBS olive oil

½ lb. bulk Italian sausage

1 cup diced onion

1 large or 2 medium carrots, diced

1 TBS minced garlic

3 cups chicken broth (preferably low sodium)

2 cans cannellini beans, drained and rinsed (15-19 oz. each)

1 can (14.5 oz) diced fire roasted tomatoes, well drained

Salt and crushed red pepper flakes (or regular ground black pepper)

2 cups fresh spinach

1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

Coarsely grated Parmesan cheese

 

Heat oil in a saucepan over medium heat. Add sausage and cook through, breaking meat into chunks with a wooden spoon. Drain off any excess fat. Stir in onion, carrots, and garlic and cook an additional 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Take one can of the beans and puree them in a food processor; reserve.

Stir in the remaining can of  beans and the broth to the soup; bring  to a boil.  Then stir in the pureed beans and the tomatoes.  Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer soup for an additional 5 minutes, or until carrots and onions are tender.  Stir in spinach and parsley and simmer just until spinach is wilted, about 2 more minutes.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Top with Parmesan cheese and serve.

Serves 4

Scenes from the Chicago Blizzard of 2011

Leave a Reply

