Sautéed Chicken with Mushrooms, Marsala and Rosemary

Can I admit that I just don’t feel like doing a darned thing today?  I’ve been home bound all day while carpet gentlemen are magically transforming my basement from a dungeon of  horrors to  a snazzy and inviting place for the teen crowd to gather.

I had every good intention of tackling projects that have been lying dormant for days, weeks, months and (gulp) years.   But at some point this morning the wind went out of my sails and instead of cleaning and organizing, I’ve been doodling around on Facebook, drinking tea, and contemplating raiding my son’s Halloween candy.  I will totally be kicking myself later on for my voluntary worthlessness.

But until that time comes, I thought I’d post a recipe that, by no coincidence, I am making for dinner tonight.  Actually, blogging is not worthless now, is it?  I have to think, compose and type.  Oh and upload the photo too.  And add tags.  Yes, the more tags the merrier, apparently.

Actually, the more I think about it, I’m downright productive, I am!  And this chicken is downright….delicious!  I’m madly in love with mushrooms, Marsala, and rosemary, which I why I incorporated them all into this dish.  It can be quickly prepared for a busy weeknight and yet elegant enough to serve at a dinner party.   Think I’ll do a little wild rice on the side and some glazed carrots.  Yes, that will be quite enjoyable.

Well will you look at the time.  I should really start prepping so that I can have dinner on the table soon.   I’m afraid that stack of bills will just have to wait because I see that in the time it’s taken me to write this post, I’ve gotten 4 Facebook notifications!

Priorities, you know 😉

Sautéed Chicken with Mushrooms, Marsala and Rosemary

2 TBS olive oil plus additional, if needed

2 small boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (see Note 1>)

8-10 oz. baby Portobello mushrooms, or white button mushrooms, thinly sliced

2 large cloves garlic, finely chopped OR thinly sliced

1 ½ tsp chopped fresh rosemary

2/3 cup dry Marsala wine

¼ cup flour

1 tsp. Penzey’s “Mural of Flavor Seasoning” OR any Italian Seasoning (See Note 2>)

Kosher salt and coarsely ground black pepper

Combine flour, seasoning, salt and pepper in a shallow bowl.  Dredge chicken breasts in seasoned flour, shaking off excess.

Heat olive oil in a medium, non-stick skillet over medium heat.  Add chicken to pan and brown on one side for approximately 4-5 minutes.  Turn and brown for an additional 4 minutes, or until chicken is golden on both sides and just cooked through.  Transfer to a plate; cover with foil.

If necessary, add an additional teaspoon of olive oil to pan. Sauté garlic briefly until fragrant, about 30 seconds.  Add mushrooms and rosemary and continue sautéing until mushrooms have softened a bit, about 3 – 4 minutes longer.

Add marsala wine to pan and simmer until wine is reduced to just a few TBS, about 3 minutes longer.  Taste mushroom sauce, and season with additional salt and pepper, if needed.

Remove foil from chicken. Pour any accumulated juices into saucepan.  Slice chicken on the diagonal; spoon mushroom sauce on top and serve.

Serves 2

Note 1>  Larger breasts may be split in half, so that they cook in the same amount of time.

Note 2>  Penzey’s “Mural of Flavor” is a wonderfully versatile blend of spices, shallots, onions and citrus.  It is salt free and available online at or at Penzeys retail stores.  Feel free to substitute any kind of salt-free, blended seasoning of your choice.

3 thoughts on “Sautéed Chicken with Mushrooms, Marsala and Rosemary

Leave a Reply

