Emmy’s Frozen Peanut Butter Pie

Before I begin to gush about this sinfully delicious dessert, I must first pay tribute to my dearly departed Cuisinart food processor, whose last heroic deed was to process the pie filling before it’s 30+ year old motor finally gave out.

The machine was passed down to me in the late 1980’s by by late mother-in-law, Jean.   Judging by the “Made in France” label on the bottom,  I am guessing the unit dates back to the mid-1970’s, making it one of the earliest models available.  As a friend of mine commented on Facebook “It looks like something the Brady’s had.” (reference to The Brady Bunch).  Indeed, it’s very likely they did!

Anyway, my Cuisinart was a true workhorse in the kitchen, processing countless batches of pesto and hummus, pureeing soups and kneading dough.  I rarely used it for slicing and dicing, though.  Still prefer to do that the old-fashioned way with my hands and my chef knife.   A few years ago, the plastic bowl developed a hairline crack, which meant it’s liquid processing days were over.  I was tempted at the time to replace it, but by then it was like an old friend. I was not ready to put it out to pasture quite yet.

Then yesterday, my daughter decided she wanted to make a peanut butter pie.  I brought up “Old Faithful” from the basement and we began to process the ingredients, but from the very beginning, the motor seem to labor and slow…and eventually, it just went out on us.  Sad indeed.

Our mourning period, however,  was rather short-lived.  After we tasted the pie, we were soon doing happy dances around the kitchen.   This recipe is going right to the top of  my “Awesome Desserts to Make” pile.  We used a store-bought Oreo® pie crust, but if you’re so inclined, feel free to make your own.  Garnishes can be fun and varied as well.  We opted for chocolate syrup and whipped cream.

Today’s task is to search for a replacement for Old Faithful

…and also resist the temptation to eat a slice of the pie for breakfast!

Emmy’s Frozen Peanut Butter Pie

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 8-ounce package cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chilled whipping cream
  • 1 purchased 6-ounce chocolate cookie pie crust
  • Optional garnishes: chocolate syrup, whipped cream, chopped peanuts

Blend powdered sugar, peanut butter, cream cheese and vanilla in processor until smooth, occasionally scraping down sides of work bowl. Transfer mixture to large bowl. Beat cream in medium bowl to soft peaks. Fold cream into peanut butter mixture in 2 additions. Spoon peanut butter filling into crust and smooth top. Freeze pie until filling is firm, at least 3 hours. (Can be prepared 1 week ahead. Cover and keep frozen. Let stand room temperature 20 minutes before serving.)

Old Faithful R.I.P

3 thoughts on “Emmy’s Frozen Peanut Butter Pie

  1. You did get a lot of use out of that Cuisinart. It more than paid for itself after 30 years!
    Your pie here looks like a delicious indulgence. Lovely texture and exceptional topping-hard to resist! Glad you posted this. Have a great day.

    • Thank you and yes, my Cuisinart led a very full life. I will most likely be replacing it with another Cuisinart, although I would say the chances of the replacement lasting 30 years are slim. The pie IS heavenly and super easy. Enjoy!

  2. Condolences on your dead Cuisinart. I have a similar relationship although I’m on my third bowl. The looks like a winner for hot weather ahead.

Leave a Reply

