Halibut with Pine Nuts, Tomatoes and Niçoise Olives

So a funny thing happened to me today as I was having a rare moment of down time.  I realized it had been a while since I posted to my blog.   Time to head to my “thinking chair” and craft a brilliant piece on the  Chicken Piccata recipe I made last week.  Only to discover I already had another blog post in draft form.  Just sitting there like a well behaved dog wagging its tail.   Ready to be shared with the masses.  My most awesome halibut recipe…how could I have forgotten!  So without further adieu…

I can say without hesitation that this is perhaps one of THE finest seafood recipes I have ever encountered.  Especially for those of you that may be slightly intimidated by preparing fish, really…honestly…you cannot go wrong with this dish.   The fish steams in a succulent mixture of tomatoes, olives and pine nuts.   Healthy and as pretty as a picture.  What more can one ask?

Note the bread in the photo?  An absolute must for soaking up the sauce.  Or alternatively, serve over a bed of angel hair pasta.  Most definitely dinner-party-worthy, although I’m still a tad conflicted on a wine pairing for this one.

Halibut recipe?  I’m ready to click the Publish button.  Go forth and conquer the food world my friend.  Your time has come.

Halibut with Pine Nuts, Tomatoes and Niçoise Olives

1 Tbs. extra-virgin olive oil
3 medium cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 cup dry white wine
3 cups grape tomatoes, halved (quartered if large)
1-1/2 cups lower-salt chicken broth
1/2 cup pitted, halved Niçoise olives (or other pitted, black brine cured olives)
4 skinless filets of halibut (black cod or Pacific cod may be substituted)
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 Tbs. chopped fresh thyme
2/3 cup pine nuts, toasted

Heat the oil in a 12-inch nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add the garlic and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add the wine and let simmer until reduced by half, about 2 minutes. Add the tomatoes, broth, and olives. Bring to a simmer and cook, stirring occasionally, until the tomatoes begin to break down, about 8 minutes.

Season the fish with salt and pepper. Stir the thyme into the sauce. Nestle the fish into the sauce, return to a simmer, cover, and reduce the heat to low. Cook until the fish is just cooked through, about 4 minutes. Transfer the fish to 4 shallow bowls. Add the pine nuts to the sauce and season to taste with salt and pepper. Spoon the sauce over the fish and serve.

Serves 4

One thought on “Halibut with Pine Nuts, Tomatoes and Niçoise Olives

  1. I made this for dinner last night and I used cod. The cod unfortunately was not of the best quality however, the sauce was delicious! I served the fish and sauce over a “nest” of linguine. The toasted pine nuts give the dish a nice surprise crunch of texture. The olives were a bright briny bite and the tomatoes break-down just enough to add a little creaminess to the dish!
    I shouldn’t have, but I sopped up the leftover sauce with chunks of Italian bread!

Leave a Reply

