S’Mores Cookie Bars

 

For some reason, I’m in a list-making mood today.  So here it goes…the top ten remarks about these S’mores Cookie Bars:

  1. Yes, I have been baking again and no, I haven’t lost my mind (yet). 
  2. I would like to thank my theatre friend, Karen Arnold for asking for a S’Mores cookie bar recipe on Facebook.  Her post prompted me to do a bit of online exploration, which eventually led me to this recipe on the Hershey® website.
  3. These are beyond easy to make and even better to eat!  See the one in the photo?  That was the lone survivor, and it disappeared moments after this photo was taken.
  4. Speaking of the photo, it’s a little different, isn’t it?  It also shows off my awesome King Arthur 8″ baking pan.
  5. Speaking of the baking pan, this one is fabulous!  I’ve learned the hard way over the years, that good-quality bakeware makes all the difference in the world.  This particular one is available on King Arthur Flour’s website for $16.95.  Buy it!
  6. Something else that makes all the difference: fresh ingredients, especially baking powder!  If you bake infrequently, like I do, it pays to always check the expiration date of your baking powder.  Again, a lesson learned the hard way.
  7. While we’re discussing ingredients, I need to confess that there is marshmallow fluff in this recipe.  I’m not exactly sure what is in marshmallow fluff other than corn syrup and a lot of air.  As my daughter would say “A substance not found in nature.”  Typically I don’t use ingredients like this, so if you could just keep this between the two of us, I would greatly appreciate it.
  8. You’re tired of reading this list, I can tell.  You want to bake and eat these NOW! Well, ok.  I get it.  I’ll stop short of ten points, so that we can get down to business here.  Happy baking!

S’mores Cookie Bars

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1-1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 5 (1.55 oz. each) HERSHEY’S Milk Chocolate Bars
  • 1 cup marshmallow fluff
Directions:

1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease 8-inch square baking pan.

2. Beat butter and sugar in large bowl until light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla; beat well. Stir together flour, graham cracker crumbs, baking powder and salt; add to butter mixture, beating until blended. Press half of dough into prepared pan.

3. Arrange chocolate bars over dough, breaking as needed to fit. Spread with marshmallow fluff. Scatter bits of remaining dough over marshmallow; carefully press to form a layer.

4. Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool completely in pan on wire rack. Cut into bars. 16 bars.

One thought on “S’Mores Cookie Bars

  1. Pingback: Happy 2013 From Dinner Is Served | Dinner Is Served

Leave a Reply

