Grilled Lamb Burgers with Marinated Red Onions, Dill, and Feta

As an amateur food blogger, I struggle with the balance of photos versus prose.  That Pioneer Woman sure does go for the photos, doesn’t she!  Every ingredient is beautifully photographed, right down to the pinch of salt.   Some find that helpful and others may find it annoying.  Either way, her photo-happy blogging resulted in two cookbooks along with a show on Foodnetwork.  Maybe photo bombing is the way to go!
Unfortunately I am no Ansel Adams in spite of having a pretty slick camera.  I also have very little patience for dropping my knife and setting up the perfect shot or rearranging my garnish before I dive in and eat.  With me, it’s pretty much one photo and lots of prose.  The down side of that is I am so darn fussy about my writing, it can take me hours to compose a blog post, check for typos and glaring grammatical errors, such as the run on sentence I am now writing.
So this time around let’s do a bit of both: a few photos and a few words of praise for this fabulous, fresh summer meal.  Love the burgers and marinated onions.  And I could seriously sit down and devour an entire plate of feta cheese drizzled with dill and olive oil.
Now for the photos, then the recipe.  See how easy this is!

Ingredients assembled and yes that fresh dill is from my garden!

Marinated onions – aren’t they pretty!

Tangy feta with olive oil and fresh dill. Major yum!

Grilled Lamb Burgers with Marinated Red Onions, Dill, and Feta

1-1/4 lb. ground lamb (or a mixture of ground lamb and ground beef)
1 1/2 tsp. sweet paprika
2 tsp. dried oregano
1 small clove garlic, minced and mashed to a paste
Kosher salt + a pinch of black pepper
6 oz. feta, cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices (about 8)
2 Tbs. extra-virgin olive oil
2 Tbs. chopped fresh dill
1/2 small red onion, thinly sliced
3 Tbs. red-wine vinegar
1 teaspoon granulated sugar
4 plain or whole-wheat pita breads, warmed
4 thin slices tomato
8 thin slices English cucumber

Prepare a medium charcoal or gas grill fire. Clean and oil the grill grates. Gently mix the lamb with the paprika, oregano, garlic, and 1 tsp. salt. and a pinch of pepper.  Form into four 1/2-inch-thick patties (this can be done several hours in advance).
On a large plate, lay out the slices of feta and sprinkle with the olive oil and 1 Tbs. of the dill. In a small bowl, toss the onion with the vinegar, sugar, 1/2 tsp. salt, and the remaining 1 Tbs. dill, and let sit for10 to 15 minutes or up to an hour at room temperature.
Grill the burgers on one side until they have good grill marks, about 5 minutes. Flip and cook the other side until it has good grill marks, too, and the burgers are just light pink inside (make a nick with a paring knife), about 5 minutes for medium doneness. Serve the burgers in the warmed pita with the feta, tomato, cucumber, and a heaping teaspoon of pickled onions.
Serves 4

2 thoughts on “Grilled Lamb Burgers with Marinated Red Onions, Dill, and Feta

  1. Hey Chef! I made this tonight but I used ground turkey. And because of time constraints I pan fried my little burgers. Anyway, this recipe is a winner! I made my own tzatkiki sauce to dress it a bit and that worked well too. A Greek side salad and the meal was complete! Someday I’ll try it with lamb! Thanks Chef.

  2. Love that you tried it with turkey! And certainly any kind of tangy/creamy sauce will work as well. Today I enjoyed some leftovers with a sauce I had previously made for my smoked salmon: a horseradish/chive/creme fraiche sauce. And it was still totally delish!

Leave a Reply

