Grilled Summer Steak Part One: Florentine Style

I feel as though I have given red meat a bit of a back seat lately.  Fear not my carnivorous followers, I am still cooking with and enjoying red meat!  Just not perhaps as frequently as I used to, especially steak.

Way back when, before children, we enjoyed grilled steak about once a week: big juicy porterhouse steaks, bacon wrapped filets,  well-marbled ribeyes.  Then the kiddos came along.  Meat prices went sky-high.  And although I adore my children, I started to think twice before plopping down $40 for NY Strip steaks, knowing they would be just as happy with a hamburger.

Fortunately over the years, I’ve gotten a bit smarter about my steak-buying habits and instead of taking out a loan to pay for the premium cuts, I’ve moved toward other cuts that provide just as much flavor (and in some cases MORE flavor), but are easier on the pocketbook and can be sliced and served in smaller portions. These cuts include skirt steak, flank, hanger steak and my new favorite:  sirloin bavette (aka flap meat).  Local readers of this blog can find 28 day wet aged sirloin bavette steak at Standard Market in Westmont.  As I write this post, it is on sale for just $5.99/lb.  See what I mean about being reasonably priced!!

These cuts of meat are popular in Latin and Asian cuisine and in French bistro cooking.  They take beautifully to marinades and rubs, are quick to cook,  and can be sliced thin and served in more reasonable portions.   Two preparations I have found to be very enjoyable recently include this ultra simple Florentine-style preparation in which the grilled steak is coated with an herb infused olive oil and drizzled with some balsamic glaze, and also a Latin-styled preparation that is served with a Chimichurri sauce (that is going to be my “Part Two” post).

Of course if life is treating you well, then by all means go for broke and use either of these sauces with a strip steak or a filet.  Then feel free to give me a shout out and I’ll be right over with a bottle of petite syrah!

Grilled Summer Steak à la Florentine

2 pounds of steak (flank, skirt, bavette, sirloin, etc.)

Kosher salt and coarsely ground black pepper

1/4 cup olive oil

1 TBS each chopped fresh chives, rosemary, parsley, and sage

Balsamic glaze OR balsamic vinegar

  1. Let meat rest, covered, at room temperature for approximately 30 minutes prior to cooking.
  2. While meat rests, prepare a grill for medium-high or high grilling.
  3. Combine oil and herbs in a large platter and set aside.
  4. Season steaks generously with salt and black pepper and grill over high heat, about 5 minutes per side or until desired doneness.
  5. Remove steak from grill and transfer to platter, spooning herbed oil over.  Let steak rest for 5 minutes turning once.
  6. Slice steak thinly against the grain, spooning some of the herbed oil on top.  Finish with a drizzle of balsamic glaze or a splash of balsamic vinegar and serve.

Serves 4

Leave a Reply

