Jack Daniels Charcoal – I ♥ You

Tomorrow I plan to post a recipe for the absolutely best dish of the summer (grilled pesto chicken and tomatoes).  But today I must give special mention to the Jack Daniels Whiskey Barrel Charcoal that I used for the first time.  I never thought I would be singing the praises of charcoal but here I am proclaiming my adoration.

I am by no means a whiskey drinker and yet I find it a fabulous spirit for cooking and grilling.  We have used whiskey barrel staves in our large smoker, and the aroma and flavor are unrivaled.  Results on our smaller Weber kettle have proved a bit less satisfying.  Good quality hardwood charcoal and wood chips are a plus, but never seem to have the same degree of intensity as our smoker.   And forget the  gas grill.  I have yet to achieve any decent degree of smokey flavor on that.

Jack Daniels charcoal delivers a real one-two punch.  The briquets themselves contain pieces of Jack Daniels wood barrel chips.  They light quickly and burn evenly.  The second punch comes from from the whiskey blocks that are cut from saturated whiskey barrel staves.  They produce a steady, penetrating smoke throughout the cooking process.

My chicken came off the grill with the look and flavor of something that had been slowly cooking on my large smoker for hours.  And yet it only took one hour on my Weber kettle grill (bone-in chicken thighs).  Can’t wait to try it out on steaks and ribs!

I wish I could tell everyone where to purchase this product, but I have no idea as to its availability.  I will just just say if you have a charcoal grill and spot this charcoal at the store, buy it.  Then toast your success with a spot of whiskey.  Or in my case, an Argentinian Malbec.

Leave a Reply

