Mini Meatball Soup {quick..family..comfort}

20121206_193040

I mentioned in my recent cookie post (which was extremely popular!), that I had a backlog of recipes to post on my blog.  I’m also way short on time right now, but then again aren’t we all?   So I thought I would group a few recipes together, get them posted and call them my {quick..family..comfort} collection.  Each recipe is simple to prepare and yet hearty enough to keep the family going on all cylinders throughout the busy holiday season and beyond.

Also, you know I love to chit chat about my food, my life, and my sometimes frustrations with certain appliances.  But I think with this series, I’ll let the recipes and photo(s) do the talking for me.  You’ll just have to trust me that each of these recipes is a winner and totally kid approved.

The first recipe in this series is a thick and flavorful mini meatball soup.  If this appears time consuming, really it’s not at all.  Pre-diced mirepoix mixes make prep time even shorter.  And with lean meat + very little oil, this soup actually rates fairly high on the healthy spectrum (especially when served with a glass of red wine).

I’ll be back soon with a simple beef stew recipe.  But until then don’t forget to take a break.  Grab a friend and go get a gingerbread latte.  Make some soup.  Smile 🙂

Mini Meatball Soup {quick..family..comfort}

  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 2 ribs celery, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 bay leaves, fresh or dried
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 pound lean ground beef, pork and veal combined (see Note>)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese or Romano
  • 1/2 cup plain bread crumbs
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly grated or ground nutmeg
  • 6 cups chicken stock or broth, plus some more if needed
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 1/2 cups dried pasta, rings, or ditalini
  • 1  10-oz bag triple washed fresh spinach
  • Kosher salt and coarsely ground black pepper
  • Additional Parmesan cheese

Directions

In a deep pot over medium heat add oil, chopped carrots, celery and onions and bay leaves. Season with salt and pepper. Cover pot and cook  5 or 6 minutes, stirring occasionally.

While the vegetables cook, combine meat, egg, garlic, grated cheese, bread crumbs, salt, pepper, nutmeg.  Roll mixture into little meatballs (about 1/2 TBS – 1 TBS each), and place on a parchment lined sheet pan until ready to use.

Uncover your soup pot and add broth and water to the pot. Increase heat to high and bring soup to a boil. When soup boils, reduce heat a bit and  drop the meatballs straight into the pot, one by one.   When you are done adding the meat, add pasta to the soup and stir. Cover and simmer soup 10 minutes. When pasta is tender, stir in chopped spinach in batches. When spinach has wilted into the soup, the soup is done and ready to serve. Add additional stock if the soup seems to thick.  Adjust your seasonings and serve.

Serves 4-6

NOTE> You may also use a ground beef/ground pork combination if that is all that is available OR substitute ground turkey

One thought on “Mini Meatball Soup {quick..family..comfort}

  1. This is like Italian wedding soup which I love but rolling beef meat balls should be easier than gummy turkey. Gonna try it when I am back on solids… Kathy

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

