Super Fantastic Skirt Steak Marinade

Skirt Steak Marinade Blog PostThis is going to be a different kind of blog post today because I’m not really going to talk that much about the marinade recipe other than to say it really does live up to its name and will quickly become one of your “go to” summer steak marinades.  My hand written notes on the original recipe read: “**** Holy Cow…AWESOME marinade!”  Think that pretty much says it all.

So in addition to this very fine steak marinade, I also wanted to share with you some photos of what ended up being a marvelous summer food weekend here in the burbs of Chicago. Just looking at everything we cooked and ate this weekend makes me smile and also gives you a little glimpse into life in my kitchen. It started Friday night with some wonderful bbq’d chicken leg quarters seasoned with Penzeys Northwoods Seasoning and sauteed fresh Swiss chard from my garden: 2013-07-12 18.16.32That I served with some roasted potatoes with fresh thyme: 2013-07-12 18.25.23And this luscious Albarino: 2013-07-12 20.17.13 Then Saturday I met up with my friend, Marty, for a delish al fresco lunch at Mago Grill. Ceviche, salsas and a glass of sangria. Perfect for a warm summer afternoon! 20130713_141032Saturday night was steak time and we cooked up this beauty from Standard Market, seasoned with Savory Spice’s Black Dust Coffee & Spice Rub: 2013-07-13 19.06.10And I turned these: 2013-07-13 18.49.28Into this: 2013-07-13 19.43.11I love Smitten Kitchen for posting the above recipe.   Have I mentioned that my kitchen is small?  I do it all with about 2 1/2 ft. of counter space (+ 1 extra foot if you add my cutting board sink insert).  In case you don’t believe me here is a photo of work in process: 2013-07-13 19.16.22Note the popsicle molds in the middle and the little book behind them?  Those ended up being a part of one my greatest triumphs this weekend.  Strawberry paletas.  They disappeared so quickly I don’t have a photo, but here is a shot of the sugared strawberries before they took a whirl through the food processor: 2013-07-13 18.42.03I will definitely be posting more about paletas this summer.  One of my new obsessions!  Keep in mind we’re only through Saturday!  Sunday my other half took his turn in the kitchen, working most of the afternoon on an incredible black eyed pea stew with smoked ham hocks and this superb corn bread that will be a future blog post: 2013-07-14 18.49.42Three days of super fantastic food and now a super fantastic marinade to share with you.  Tonight, I think it’s going to be be burgers on the grill and protein shakes for lunch for the remainder of the week.  One can only take so much wining and dining.  Even me!  Wishing everyone happy summer cooking.

Super Fantastic Skirt Steak Marinade

1/2 cup olive oil

1/3 cup soy sauce

4 scallions, washed and cut in 1/2

2 large cloves garlic, peeled

1/4 cup fresh lime juice

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

3 tablespoons dark brown sugar

1/4 cup chopped cilantro (optional)

1 1/2 to 2 pounds inside skirt steak, cut into 3 equal pieces

Combine marinade ingredients, including cilantro if desired, into a blender or food processor to process.  Place skirt steak in a plastic, resealable bag and pour marinade over.  Seal and refrigerate at least 1 hour or overnight.

Heat a gas or charcoal grill to medium-high heat.  Remove steak from marinade, shaking off the excess.  Grill for about two minutes on one side then turn and continue grilling to desired doneness (thin cuts of meat will only take another minute or two.  Thicker steaks will take longer for medium rare).  Remove steak from grill and let rest for at least 5 minutes, then slice against the grain and serve.

Serves 4

Leave a Reply

