Cilantro Lime Butter

Cilantro Lime Butter

To say that I have been busy/swamped/burning the candles at both ends these days, is a major understatement.  Aside from the usual back to school mayhem + work, we’re in the midst of college planning and applications for our daughter.  And since I can’t say “no” to anything, I agreed to be an assistant stage manager for a show at our local community theatre.  Throw yard work, laundry, etc. into the fray and well, you get the picture.

It is very tempting during times like this, to let the family meals go by the wayside.  And trust me, there are plenty of nights where take out food and frozen pizza is the name of the game, especially on week days.  But on weekends, I like to put together something a little special and still keep things simple.

Which brings me to this delightfully easy and flavorful Cilantro-Lime butter.  Just four ingredients, but add it to grilled fish, poultry or vegetables and it adds such a lovely touch of flavor.  Last night I put a little bit on some mesquite grilled swordfish.  In the past, I’ve used it on chicken kabobs, grilled corn on the cob, and even on roasted potatoes.   You can whip up a small little batch like this in under five minutes, or go for broke and make a larger batch to freeze for future use.

And now my yard, it is a calling.  Enjoy what’s left of the weekend my friends. I’ll be back in take-out land in no time!

Cilantro-Lime Butter

  • 1 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon freshly grated lime zest
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lime juice
  • 1 small garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tablespoon chopped, fresh cilantro

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and refrigerate or freeze until ready to use.  To use,  place on any hot food, tent with foil so butter can melt, then serve.

Yields: About 2-3 servings

One thought on “Cilantro Lime Butter

  1. Ann, I giggled at when you admitted take-out and frozen pizza! Although I cook for a living, I totally get that. This weekend I made three homemade dinners in a row and I thought my husband would faint!I love your idea of freezing this because Pete could easily add that to the grilled fish he makes on night’s I teach class. Thanks for the great idea!

Leave a Reply

