Chile-Tequila Shrimp Tostadas with Lime Crema

Chile-Tequila Shrimp Tostadas with Lime Crema | Dinner Is ServedThis week marks the first time I’ve seen my lawn in four months, and let me tell you it isn’t a pretty sight.  I also have access to my grill for the first time in four months, but the gas bottle is empty.  I would say that I tried on a pair of shorts too, but I’m just not going to go there for at least another month or two.

Welcome to “Spring that’s not Spring” in Chicago.

I find myself in desperate need of light and fresh food these days so when Friday came upon me a few days ago and I happened to have the day off work, my mind wandered to the flavors of Mexican cuisine: lime, cool sour cream, spicy chile, cilantro and fresh avocados.  Fish tacos came to mind, but when I spotted these tostadas on Fine Cooking’s website, I was all over it.

The ingredients are fairly straight forward on this one.  Although I did have to go out and purchase a bottle of tequila [too bad so sad :]   Chile Tequila Shrimp Tostadas with Lime Crema | Dinner Is Served

Hidden behind the shrimp is a wonderful Wisconsin White Clover honey I found at the store from Gentle Breeze.  And speaking of “gentle,” a gentle reminder at this point to NEVER buy bargain basement honey, especially contaminated honey from China!  For more info, check out True Source Honey online.

Gentle Breeze Honey

 This recipe also let me use a few of my favorite kitchen gadgets and also to mess around with photo editing a bit.  Goes without saying if you don’t own a Microplane or a Norpro Lime Juicer by now, well you’re missing out on two of the best kitchen gadgets ever created.

Microplane and Lime JuicerAnd here is where I admit to cutting a few corners by using pre-made tostadas. Forgive me but I was just not in a mood to deep fry tortillas!

Tostadas

And here is where I tell you this is a fantastic dish that I absolutely loved (which is pretty much what I say about every dish I post here)

Chile Tequila Shrimp Tostadas with Lime Crema

 Do I need to tell you what to do with the leftover tequila?  Yeah…I didn’t think so 😉

margarita-cocktail

Chile Tequila Shrimp Tostadas with Lime Crema*

  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. pure chipotle chile powder (or regular chile powder)
  • Kosher salt
  • 1 lb. large or extra-large (20 to 30 per lb.) shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 3/4 cup sour cream (or substitute plain Greek yogurt or Mexican sour cream)
  • 2 medium limes, 1 finely grated to yield 2 tsp. zest and squeezed to yield 1 Tbs. juice; the other cut into 4 wedges
  • 1/2 tsp. honey
  • 1/4 cup white tequila
  • 8 5- to 6-inch packaged tostadas (see Note>)
  • 1 cup thinly sliced green cabbage
  • 1 large firm-ripe Hass avocado, diced
  • Chopped cilantro, for garnish
 In a shallow baking dish, combine 1 Tbs. of the oil with the chipotle powder and 1/2 tsp. salt. Add the shrimp and toss well to coat. Let sit for 10 minutes.

In a small bowl, combine the sour cream, lime zest and juice, honey, and 1/2 tsp. salt.

Heat the oil in a large skillet. Add the shrimp and cook over medium-high heat on one side until lightly browned, about 2 minutes. Flip and cook 1 minute more. Take the pan off the heat and add the tequila. Return to the heat and cook, tossing, until just cooked through, about 1 minute. Remove from the heat.

Slather each tostada with about 1 Tbs. of the sour cream mixture. Divide the cabbage, avocado, and shrimp over the tostadas, drizzle with the remaining sour cream mixture, sprinkle with cilantro (if using), and serve with the lime wedges.

Serves 4

Note> You can easily turn these into shrimp tacos by substituting your favorite corn or flour soft tortillas or taco shells.  Or…maybe give this technique a try!  Instructions can be found at: http://lifehacker.com/5885277/make-your-own-taco-bowls-by-flipping-over-a-muffin-tin/allMake Your Own Taco Bowls

*Recipe adapted from Fine Cooking Magazine

 

Leave a Reply

