Happy New Year from Dinner Is Served!

Happy New Year from DInner Is Served!While many people like to look forward to the year ahead on New Years Eve,  I like to reflect on the past year.  Times spent with family and friends,  big events for the kiddos (my daughter starting college), milestones for me as well (starting a job full time). Travels were few and far between but very fun, especially exploring Kentucky and bourbon country last spring!

Then there are my food memories. SO MANY, it’s hard to know where to begin.

First, there was our epic bad winter in January-February. Look back at scenes like this makes me hope and pray we don’t get a repeat this year.  Then again, it was fun hunkering down at home with a roaring fire, good wine and wonderful soups and stews:PicMonkey Collage

Spring eventually emerged and my garden kicked into full swing. I was blessed with an abundance of fresh kale, cabbage, lettuce, herbs and tomatillos.

10653283_10205316937229167_1893379757392262430_nAnd at some point I became absolutely obsessed with potatoes, looking at my blog posts. My favorite, of course being these fantastic salt baked potatoes with rosemary and garlic. These are a MUST TRY!Potatoes Baked in Salt with Garlic & Rosemary | Dinner Is Served

I partnered with BelGioioso cheese in November to create a Wedge Salad with Creamy Gorgonzola Salad with Garlic-Parmesan Toasts, was able to give away a big, beautiful cheese basket from them AND ended up with my most favorite photo of the year: Romaine Wedge Salad with Creamy Gorgonzola Dressing and Garlic-Parmesan Toasts

Speaking of photos, I think I’ve been doing a bit better in that department. I’ve learned the importance of natural light and composition. Looking back at my early blog days, my photos were pretty bleak, poorly lit and requiring a lot of editing.  I am gradually trying to replace the old photos whenever I remake a recipe. Just check out the difference:

Happy New Year from DISAccording to WordPress stats, my most viewed post was on February 9th, with my Rigatoni with Sweet Sausage, Escarole, Cannellini Beans and Garlic Broth.  While I still think this photo could be improved upon, I remember the recipe well and it was super delicious and I may just have to make it again this weekend (and maybe take a better pic!).

Rigatoni with Sweet Sausage, Escarole, Cannellini Beans and Garlic BrothThe recipe that I loved the most that I thought deserved more attention was my wonderful Roasted Squash Soup with Pie Spices. I don’t know, maybe there’s just an over abundance of squash soup recipes in the fall and this one got lost in the shuffle! I would love for you all to try it sometime.Roasted Squash Soup with Pie Spices | Dinner Is Served

And last, but certainly not least, I went out with a bang with these incredible Mini Eggnog Latte Cheesecakes. I admit I’ve been totally baking averse in the past, but I’m coming around. Maybe 2015 will be the year I finally master a pie crust!

Mini Eggnog Lattee Cheesecakes | Dinner Is Served

I have no idea what 2015 has in store for me, but for sure we will have many new food adventures and hopefully I will pick up many followers along the way.  As always, I am forever grateful for the support and kind words from my readers both here on my blog and on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc.  I wish each and every one of you a joyous, prosperous and healthy 2015.

Dinner Is Served

 

Leave a Reply

